Beer at the Fayette County Fair

Hello

Not sure if anyone read my column in Sunday’s paper on selling of beer at the Fayette County Fair.  I know there are people who are really against alcohol out there, and I respect their opinions.  However, I really think it’s not fair for these folks to demonize Bill Jackson and the other fair board members who are supporting the selling of beer at the fair. They’re not trying to hurt anyone.  They’re just trying to raise some much-needed money to support all the activities at the fair. These folks have worked their whole lives to build up the fair. They’re not going to let it degenerate into a beer brawl. They said they will close it down the first night if there are problems. And we will hold them to their word. I think it’s worth at least giving it a chance. They’ve been doing this at the Washington County Fair and there haven’t been any problems.  I think you have to wonder how many people the critics represent. I like to hear from those on both sides of this issue. So, jot something and let me know what you think.

 

3 Responses to Beer at the Fayette County Fair

  1. Mark McCracken says:

    Yes Mr. O’Keefe we did read your column in Sunday’s paper and I would like to say that we are not against alcohol because I believe there is a time and place for it but I do not think that place is our fair !!! I am not worried about it turning into a beer brawl I am worried about the one DUI accident that might happen when leaving the fair!! I believe in a bar atmosphere it is easier to monitor their customers and at our large fair venue I do not think the security will be adequate!!! I also do not think that $3.00 a beer is alot for $10.00 I can have 3 beers with a buck left. I do believe it will make the fair money but sometimes a fast easy buck will cost you in the long run . I think the other vendors will loss money because why buy a lemonade if you can buy a beer ?
    The fair grounds are there all year why are they not used more To bring income ? Lets look around the area where is money being spend? How about quads, motorcycle they are everywhere think motocross once a month in the summer? Look at the bike trail, a golf course,car shows on a Sunday afternoon any other ideas how the fair can make money? Think out of the box look around? Any ideas out there?

    Mark McCracken

  2. Mark McCracken says:

    My email is calmark77@yahoo.com not calamark77@yahoo.com sorry for the mistake.
    Mark McCracken

  3. executiveeditor says:

    Mark
    Thanks for your comments. I give you credit for trying to come up with some alternatives instead of just bashing Bill Jackson and the fair board. They really don’t deserve the name-calling they’ve been getting.
    As far as security, the fair people are very confident in that regard. They’ve had the same people for a number of years and you really don’t hear much about any trouble out there. Not sure if the fairgrounds has the proper terrain for motocross or a bike trail, but they might be worth looking into. I’m sure the fair board would listen to any real ideas out there. I’m sure they’ve talked about a lot of things over the years. I’m sure it’s not like selling beer is the first thing they thought about. So, let us know if you have any ideas and we’ll be happy to pass them on to the fair board.
    Thanks
    Mark O’Keefe

Leave a comment